Pearl Of Ft. Lauderdale #19

Hon. Curphey Grant- Illustrative Grand

Organization of Pearl of Ft. Lauderdale Lodge No. 19
2nd Mechanics Lodge in Florida

Sometime in 1982, three Mechanics from Beacon of Miami Lodge No.17, residing in Ft. Lauderdale, Broward  County. Namely, Bro. Glasford  Earl H. P., Bro. Clement Scott P. I. G., R.A., and Bro. Joseph  E. Cooper M. M.; began organizing a few members to form a Mechanic Social Club.

The first meeting was held at 1157 N.W.31st Avenue, (Martin Luther King Boulevard)  in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. Bro. Hayden Dennis was elected chairman and Bro. Alban R. Calderon secretary of the club. There were nineteen prospective members, six of whom were already members of the Mechanics Order.

In 1983, after several months of organizing and fundraising activities, a letter was sent to Beacon of Miami Lodge No.17 requesting sponsorship. Bro. Owen Daley H. P., Bro. Berris Anderson  P. I. G. and Bro. Venroy Miller P. I. G., were appointed members of the  Scrutinizing Committee to instruct the club on its findings.

It took two and a half years of hard work and dedication to achieve the dream of becoming a Mechanics Lodge.

The Inauguration and Installation

On May 25th, 1985, the Pearl of Ft. Lauderdale Lodge No. 19 was inaugurated in an impressive ceremony at the Lincoln Park Complex on Sistrunk Boulevard, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. The Hon.Clarence George Dixon, Rt. Worshipful District Grand Master of Alpha District  Grand Lodge No.1, New York presided over the meeting.


Bro. Francis SmithMM Deputy Master
Bro.George HermansAssistant Secretary
Ven. Alban R. CalderonPGM Acting Assistant Secretary
Bro. Howard FrancisRA Treasurer
Bro. Robert MoultonPIG Senior Deacon
Bro. Robert GordonRA Junior Deacon
Bro. Dennis PetersPIC Tyler
Bro. Lionel BrownPIG Chaplain